HOMEMADE PEANUT BUTTER BANANA ICE CREAM

20160730_121425

Mother takes home a lot of ripe bananas (Kuya ninong dong’s business) last week. So to avoid wastage, I decided to make a banana ice cream. I sooo love creamy ice cream so why not make one. And since it’s already late in the evening, I asked mother to put the bananas in the freezer so I can use it for the ice cream project the next day (after office). Father reacted but I assured them that banana peel will turn black but the banana inside is still edible.

The next day (night actually – after office), I prepared everything I need for the banana ice cream. I looked for available ingredients in the kitchen but I only saw half jar of creamy peanut butter. Well, peanut butter and banana makes a good match.

I sliced the frozen bananas thinly and processed together with the peanut butter. Since bananas are already sweet so the remaining half cup of peanut butter is already enough. After it became smooth and creamy, I transferred the mixture in an empty ice cream tub and put into the freezer.

Come the judgement day, I served the Peanut Butter Banana Ice Cream as after-lunch dessert. I put sprinkles on top (I found some leftover) to make the servings extra special. The verdict….it’s the best and healthiest homemade ice cream! The best that I’m already planning to make another flavor so soon. And hubby even asked for MORE! Do you have some easy and yummy ice cream recipes too?…    

20160730_121536

20160730_121445

 

HOMEMADE PEANUT BUTTER BANANA ICE CREAM

 yield: ½ gallon

INGREDIENTS:

15 large very ripe frozen bananas
½ cup peanut butter

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Peel frozen bananas and slice into 1/2 inch discs.
  2. Place the banana slices in a food processor or blender along with peanut butter. Puree bananas and peanut butter mixture, scraping down the bowl as needed, until creamy and smooth.
  3. Serve immediately for soft-serve ice cream consistency or place in the freezer for 4-6 hours if you prefer harder ice cream, and then serve.

*Note: Feel free to add more peanut butter if you want sweeter ice cream.

 

by:

name signature

Leave a Reply

